Picture
Joe catches a crab on our room key
After our exciting adventure exploring Koh Phi Phi, we spent the next day relaxing on the beach and at the pool. We got an early start to the day to take advantage of our little paradise.

As Joe, Rick, and I explored the beach, we noticed some quick scurrying on the sand. Taking a closer look, we discovered many cute little sand crabs. They blend into the sand and run really, really fast! I managed to corner one in a footprint and I must have scared it, because it decided to play dead. Squealing with excitement, I asked Joe to catch the crab for me. We weren't sure if the crab would pinch, so Joe scooped him up on our room key. Crablington (I named the crab) sat still and didn't try to leap to freedom.

As this was happening, Raul was making his way down to the beach. Being from Puerto Rico and having caught many crabs before, Raul showed us how to properly hold Crablington (in other words, Raul isn't a wuss like the rest of us!). Then, Joe took a turn while I declined. Creepy crawly critters aren't my thing.

Picture
Raul shows us how to hold a crab
Picture
Joey's turn with Crablington
Picture
Crablington playing dead
After playing with Crablington, we set him free (see video below) and decided to scour the rocks along the beach for larger crabs. We found a whole bunch of them clinging to the rocks. As we did this the tide got stronger and stronger and stirred up the sand where we were standing... to the point where we couldn't see what we were stepping on. This made me nervous because I didn't want to step on any crabs... and I was especially creeped out when a crab scurried across Joe's foot! While the crab didn't pinch, Joe said it felt really sharp. And so, that was the end of the crab adventure for us!
Picture
Area where we went looking for crabs
Picture
Crab on the rock



Leave a Reply.