Picture
Our daybed on Nusa Dua beach
Joe and I had a fabulous trip to Bali. It was a relaxing, adventurous, and overall awesome vacation! We stayed at the Westin Resort Nusa Dua. Nusa Dua is a gated community in Bali that's known for being a quiet, family-friendly area. The beaches in Nusa Dua are really pretty with warm, crystal clear water.

Our first day in Bali was quite lazy. We hung out on a daybed by the beach, dozing, reading, and enjoying the ocean. The Westin is an awesome resort with great food and service. I highly recommend it to anyone who is thinking about visiting Bali.

Although Bali is beautiful, the most striking thing about the island is the people. The Balinese people are some of the friendliest and most peaceful people I have ever met in my life. Their smiles are incredibly warm, welcoming and genuine! I was struck by how positive the Balinese are, despite the fact that they are very poor. One of the locals we interacted with said he had never been outside of Bali because it is too expensive for him to travel, but that he is just thankful to be alive and well. It's a sobering experience to see how people in poorer countries live and makes me appreciate my life even more than I already do. I'm going to make a conscious effort to be as positive as the Balinese any time I face an obstacle in the future!

Stay tuned for the next posting... day two was a little more adventurous. Joe and I tried surfing for the first time! 

Picture
Crystal clear water... like my water shoes?
Picture
Path on Nusa Dua beach



Leave a Reply.