As we enter our fourth week in Singapore (can't believe we've been here almost a month!), I thought it would be fun to share cultural differences that I've observed. This will be an ongoing topic, as we encounter new things every day.

Today's topic is... napkins. Ha ha, yes, napkins are an important topic for me to bring up. Although the food courts here are fantastic - good, cheap food - they don't provide napkins. So, people here always carry little tissue packets around. I always make sure to have them in my purse!

Another use for tissues? Seat savers. Food courts are typically jam-packed and it can be difficult to find seats. So, people lay out tissues, tissue packets (or really any other pieces of paper or random trinkets that they have) to save seats while they are up at the food stalls collecting their grub. 

If you're ever in Singapore, remember this seat saving rule. I read in a guide book that the writer's western friends mistakenly thought tissue packets were complimentary napkins, and took the seat of a not-so-happy Singaporean!



Leave a Reply.