Picture
Attempting to surf in Kuta, Bali
Before going to Bali, I researched many different options for excursions and tours. I came across one girl's blog that detailed the fun she had taking a surf lesson. I decided to go out on a more adventurous limb than usual, and signed Joe and I up for surfing. When in Bali, do as the Balinese do... right?

Bali is known for its great surfing conditions, and the town of Kuta is very popular with surfers. Kuta is about a 25 minute drive north of Nusa Dua... although the ride can take up to an hour because the traffic is terrible and there is only one road from Nusa Dua to Kuta.

Picture
Joe was really good at surfing
I chose to sign us up with the Odysseys Surf School because of the great reviews I read online. The surf package was really inexpensive. At $45 per person, the school provided transportation to and from our hotel, all of our surf gear/clothing, a 2.5 hour private lesson, bottled water and a decent shower facility. It was totally worth the experience!

Surfing is VERY DIFFICULT and our surf instructor Gary was very patient with us. Joe got the hang of things pretty quickly and was able to surf on his own. He had some great rides on the waves.

Picture
Gary laughs as I fall down
Me on the other hand... let's just say I needed some extra help. I could not, for the life of me, keep my surfboard perpendicular to the waves in order to surf on my own. Gary had to be my "training wheels" and hold my surfboard until a wave would come so I could have a fighting chance at standing up. 

Despite falling a million times, getting hit by my own surfboard as I toppled over, and swallowing mouthfuls of disgusting sea water, I have to admit that the experience was very exhilarating. It was worth it for the few times I was actually able to stand up and ride the waves. Joe and I have promised ourselves that we will try surfing again in the future... maybe Hawaii next time?

Picture
Photo with Gary after our lesson
While I highly recommend surfing for anyone who visits Bali, be aware that you might not be able to walk or move your body the next day! :) I consider myself to be a pretty fit person, so it was comical that I could hardly breathe the next day (my ribs were extremely sore!).




Leave a Reply.